Campaign Hate ’08

October 29, 2008

In the spirit of being a cool, in-the-know, type of blogger, I would like to give a little commentary into how I wish politics were done.  Please note that I am not an expert, nor am I claiming to be.  I am actually quite uninformed on Politics, I’m sure.

I don’t understand negative campaigning.  Can someone explain to me why we can’t get a leader to run for office that is a good enough leader in his/her own right that they don’t have to crucify their opponent so that they are the only one still living to take the job by default?  Wouldn’t it be nice to see a clean campaign that talked only about the candidate’s strengths?  One that convinced us that we weren’t having to choose the lesser of two evils but that there was actually a good candidate?  It seems to me that the more corrupt campaigning there is the less likely an actual good candidate would want to run.

Let’s stop looking for skeletons in the closet.  Let’s campaign based on our good qualities.  Let’s don’t lash out against our opponents.  This isn’t 7th grade anymore.  Grow up, be men and women of integrity, and be the leaders that this country needs.

Leave a Reply

