The Beast and the Easy

July 4, 2008

I walked on the beach last night for a really long time.  Actually, I can’t think of a time where I walked anywhere longer – ever.  As I was walking South along the coast I noticed something very interesting.  If I looked to the right I saw multi-million dollar homes with people sitting comfortably inside.  Lights were shining from every opening.  TVs were flickering blue and red.  It was the easy life, I guess, but I don’t know if you could call it life.  It was just the easy.  But, as I looked to my right I saw the ocean.  It’s waves beating against the sand.  The black sky mixing with the black waters.  It went on for eternity.  The only lights it saw were the billions of stars overhead.  It was so much more dangerous than the easy, but I imagined life there.  The Beast was full of life, nothing but life.  It’s tentacles stretching out to me with every step wanting to devour me, but not knowing it.  It reminded me of every quotation I had ever heard about the safe harbor.  I realized that life is for living.  It maybe hard, but it still has to be alive.

Leave a Reply

