Tension

May 19, 2008

I figured out not too long ago that I really struggle living in tension.  It has to be one way or the other, but never in between.  I will either eat sweets every day, or I will go months and months without eating them at all.  I always justify this by saying that it’s will power that’s allowing me to do this.  The truth is, though, is that I am lazy.  I don’t want to have to have self-control.  I would much rather make up my mind that I’m going to do something (or not do something) and then not worry about it.  The problem with this is that I never get to enjoy sweets (or whatever else it may be) because I don’t want to have to worry about the temptation of indulging.  Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not talking about sin here.  It’s is overly important to make up your mind about sin and just not do it.  In fact, I’ve found it’s better when you don’t concentrate on not sinning because you know that you’re not going to.  But it’s the other things in life that I struggle with.  I need help living in the tension.  I need moderation.

Leave a Reply

